Newsletter April 2019



Well known and popular Church members Bill and Marion Jarvie, along with family, recently celebrated their 62nd wedding anniversary and Bill's 93rd birthday, at the Royal Hotel.  Their great-niece Laura MacCallum captured the happy couple enjoying the day.


There was a huge turnout for the Newhill Primary School Nativity Play in our Church on Friday 21st December.            It was 'standing room only' after family and friends crowded in for another superb service, which included musical interludes.    Thanks to Rev Richard Campbell who lead the service in his usual relaxed manner.  



Rev Harry Mowbray conducted worship in our church for the last time on Sunday 26th August before his retiral. At the end of the service the Session Clerk presented him with a suitably engraved glass plaque and a cheque.  The Guides Brownies and Rainbows presented him with gifts.








A social gathering with entertainment in the Church followed by refreshments was held on Saturday 18th August as a tribute to Harry.  A great time was had by all.







On Sunday 18th August Lex was presented with a certificate in recognition of his 60 years as a church organist.


Jim Gibb was presented with a certificate recognising his completion of 30 years as an ordained elder.                     Rev Harry Mowbray who made the presentation during worship on Sunday 15th July spoke of the huge commitment and dedication shown by Jim in the many varied duties carried out by him not just to our Church was also the community asa whole .




The annual Presbytery golf match competing for the Snuff Mull Trophy took place on Thursday 21st June on the Wee Course at Blairgowrie.  Six teams from across Presbytery took part. 

Great fun, followed by a super meal and much chatter!   The winners were the BLAIRGOWRIE PARISH CHURCH team - congratulations to the players - Harry Mowray, Alex Ferguson, Iain Mackay and Alisdair Drummond. 


A  meeting of the congregation took place on Sunday 17th June 2018 at the close of morning worship for the purpose of appointing a Nominating Committee.

At the meeting, the congregation were invited to elect 13 people, who are on the Electoral Register of the congregation of Blairgowrie Parish Church, to serve on the Nominating Committee.  

A total of nineteen people were nominated,which required voting, resulting in the following members being appointed as the Nominating Committee.

                  Bruce Dow, Alasdair Shaw, Alex Easton, Brenda Kerr, Mary Macdonald, Andy Lang,                                              Alisdair Drummond, Wilma Gibb, Margaret Nicoll, Susan Whiteford, Margaret Conroy,                                            Pamela Howat and Louisa Ferguson. 


The Committee met immediately after the election and appointed the office-bearers as follows:-

Convener - Alisdair Drummond        Vice Convener - Brenda Kerr          Clerk - Margaret Conroy